Jewish Immigration in Myth and Reality

June 21-25, 2021

Organizers: Dr Natalie Wynn, Herzog Centre, Trinity College Dublin and Dr Mara W. Cohen Ioannides, Missouri State University;

Sponsors: Herzog Centre, Trinity College Dublin; Midwest Jewish Studies Association of the USA; Western Jewish Studies Association of the USA.

Register: https://www.eventbrite.com/organizations/events?org=33305035647

Mara Cohen Ioannides Events | Eventbrite

Panel 1: The Galveston Movement: Making and Unmaking Myths of American Jewish Immigration (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/156919369057)

June 21, Monday

PDT 8 am/CDT 10 am/EDT 11 am/IST-BST 4 pm/IDT 6 pm/CEST 5pm

Chair: Amy Shevits-Hill, Loyola University

“‘A Good Place to Emigrate to Now’: Recruiting Eastern European Jews for the Galveston Movement in 1907,”

Joshua Furman, Rice University

“The Cassel: Tracing the Immigrant Passengers on the Galveston Movement’s First Ship,”

Bryan Edward Stone, Del Mar College

“‘God Is There in the Dark’: Creating Mythology Through Performance in the Galveston Movement,”

Jonah Greene, University of Kansas

Panel 2: Latin America (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/156927160361)

June 21, Monday

PDT 10:30 am/CDT 12:30 pm/EDT 1:30 pm/IST-BST 6:30 pm/IDT 8:30 pm/CEST 7.30 pm

Chair: Ellen Eisenberg, Willamette University

“The Strange Story of José Siderman: Jewish Argentine Identities in the Shadow of Dictatorship,”

David M. K. Sheinin, Trent University

“Reenacting the Yiddish Experience in Argentina: The Parodies of Jevel Katz,”

Patricia Nuriel, Wofford College

“Pioneering Jewish Women (‘Colonas’) into Argentina: Dreams and Unfulfilled Aspirations,” Nora Glickman, Queens College

Panel 3: North America (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/156929013905)

June 22, Tuesday

PDT 8 am/CDT 10 am/EDT 11 am/IST-BST 4 pm/IDT 6 pm/CEST 5 pm

Chair: Jeannette Gabrielle, University of Omaha – Nebraska

“Refugees and Migrants: Reassessing the History of Jewish Migration to North America since 1600,”

Tobias Brinkmann, Penn State University

“The Jews of Murrieta Hot Springs: Creating the Catskills of Southern California,”

Jonathan L. Friedmann, Academy for Jewish Religion

“Jewish Traders’ migration to the American West and their relationships with Native women,” Mara W. Cohen Ioannides, Missouri State University

“America’s Peasantry: Immigrant Jews, Blacks and the Historiographical Myth of ‘America’s Jews’,”

Gil Ribak, University of Arizona

Panel 4: Literary Representations of Immigration and Emigration (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/156929808281)

June 22, Tuesday

PDT 10:30 am/CDT 12:30 pm/EDT 1:30 pm/IST-BST 6:30 pm/IDT 8:30 pm/CEST 7.30pm

Chair: Charlyn Ingwerson, Drury University

“Go West: Jewish Migratory Literatures as Co-constructed Commentary between Experiential and Imagined Narratives,”

Richard Brown, University of Sheffield

“‘Citizens of Everywhere’: Narratives of Return Migration in post-2016 Britain,”

Sue Vice, University of Sheffield

Panel 5: Israel: Immigration and Emigration (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/156931070055)

June 23, Wednesday

PDT 8 am/CDT 10 am/EDT 11 am/IST-BST 4 pm/IDT 6 pm/CEST 5 pm

Chair: Maria Diemling, Canterbury Christ Church University

“Transnational migrants encounter the workplace: The case of Jewish migrants from North America to Israel,”

Amir Akiva Segal, Hebrew University

“Jews and Israelis in Germany: Who comes, who stays, and why?”

Dani Kranz, Ben Gurion University

“Mizrahim as soldiers and Black panthers in the Israeli series ‘Valley of Tears’: An Analysis in Contemporary Visual History,”

Verena Hanna, University of Vienna

Fugitive Writers: From Israel to Europe and Back,”

Yael Almog, Durham University

Panel 6: Material Culture (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/156932462219)

June 23, Wednesday

PDT 10:30 am/CDT 12:30 pm/EDT 1:30 pm/IST-BST 6:30 pm/IDT 8:30 pm/CEST 7.30 pm

Chair: Laura Arnold Leibman, Reed College

“Between Myth and Reality: Reproducing European Synagogues in Latin America,”

Michele Migliori, Bar Ilan University

“Diasporic Intergenerational Trauma and the not so Innocent Artifact,”

Eric Nay, Ontario College of Art and Design University

“Siberian Myth in the Russian Jewish history,”

Anna Berezin, Hebrew University, and Vladimir Levin, Hebrew University

Panel 7: British and Irish Isles I: Narratives of Immigration and Settlement (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/156933188391)

June 24, Thursday

PDT 8 am/CDT 10 am/EDT 11 am/IST-BST 4 pm/IDT 6 pm/CEST 5 pm

Chair: Phil Alexander, University of Edinburgh

“Preserving the Records of Jewish Immigrants and Refugees in Scotland,”

Harvey L. Kaplan, Scottish Jewish Archives Centre  

“‘They were told it was America’: Myth and reality of Jewish migrant journeys to the UK,”

Nicholas J. Evans, University of Hull

“Uncorking the nuanced reality of the Cork Jewish community,”

Peter Garry, Trinity College Dublin

“A Tangled Web: The Mythology of Jewish Migration to Ireland,”

Natalie Wynn, Trinity College Dublin

Panel 8: British and Irish Isles II: Reception of Holocaust Refugees (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/156933824293)

June 24, Thursday

PDT 10:30 am/CDT 12:30 pm/EDT 1:30 pm/IST-BST 6:30 pm/IDT 8:30 pm/CEST 7.30 pm

Chair: Zuleika Rodgers, Trinity College Dublin

“Brokers of industrial modernity? Jewish refugee manufacturers and the search for safe settlement in 1930s Ireland,”

Trisha Oakley Kessler, University of Cambridge

“The Kindertransport Reimagined: The Disparity Between the Myth and the Lived Experiences,”

Nicola Woodhead, University of Southampton

Panel 9: Eastern Europe (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/156934440135)

June 25, Friday

PDT 8 am/CDT 10 am/EDT 11 am/IST-BST 4 pm/IDT 6 pm/CEST 5 pm

Chair: Vladimir Levin, Hebrew University

“Historical past and modern reality of the Jewish migration from Ukraine,”

Elizaveta Iakimova, Russian Academy of Sciences

“Pogroms, Networks, and Migration,”

Yannay Spitzer, Hebrew University

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.