International Conference: Jewish Dissidents in the Eastern Bloc

14-15 April 2021

Organisers:

Cathy Gelbin (University of Manchester); Sander Gilman (Emory University); Monika Schärtl (Selma Stern Center for Jewish Studies Berlin-Brandenburg)

Registration: info@selma-stern-zentrum.de

09.00-09.30 EDT / 14.00-14.30 BST / 15.00-15.30 MESZ / CEST

Welcome:

Stefanie Schüler-Springorum (Selma Stern Center)

Keynote:

Thomas Krüger (German Federal Agency for Civic Education)

09.30-10.30 EDT / 14.30-15.30 BST / 15.30-16.30 MESZ / CEST

Chair:

Norman Salusa (Selma Stern Center)

Panel 1: 

Sander Gilman (Emory): Opposition/Dissident/Collaborator/Victim/’Magic Jew’? Jurek Becker in the GDR

Anna Shternshis (Toronto): How (not) to Say Gulag in Yiddish: Soviet Yiddish Intellectuals and the early Days of Thaw

10.30-11.00 EDT / 15.30-16.00 BST / 16.30-17.00 MESZ / CEST

Break

11.00-12.00 EDT / 16.00-17.00 BST / 17.00-18.00 MESZ / CEST

Chair:

Stephen Parker (Cardiff / Manchester)

Panel 2:

Mario Keßler (Leibniz Center for Contemporary History): Alfred Kantorowicz between East and West

Janek Gryta (Bristol): Navigating the Communist Reality of Poland. Regional Jewish Leaders and the Memory of the Holocaust in the 1950s and 1960s

April 15

09.00-10.00 EDT / 14.00-15.00 BST / 15.00-16.00 MESZ / CEST

Chair:

Katja Stürzenhofecker (Manchester)

Panel 3:           

Ion Popa (Manchester): Jewish Dissidence in Romania: Definition, Chronology and Particularities

Susan Suleiman (Harvard): Forms of Intellectual Dissidence in Communist Hungary 

10.00-10.30 EDT / 15.00-15.30 BST / 16.00-16.30 MESZ / CEST

Break

10.30-11.30 EDT / 15.30-16.30 BST /  16.30-17.30 MESZ / CEST

Chair: 

Vera Tolz-Zilitinkevic (Manchester)

Reading: 

Maxim D. Shrayer (Boston): The Refusenik Legacy: A Reading and A Discussion

11.30-12.30 EDT / 16.30-17.30 BST / 17.30-18.30 MESZ / CEST

Chair:

Irmela von der Lühe (Selma Stern Center)

Concluding comments:

Cathy Gelbin (Manchester): What is Jewish Dissidence?

Followed by roundtable discussion with public Q&A

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.